SCHOOL STAFF AND POSITIONS

Updated June 2017

HEAD OF SCHOOL

Professor Ben Cosh
Meteorology Building, Room 2L53
E-mail: b.cosh@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 5208

Responsibilities of Head of School

SCHOOL DIRECTOR OF TEACHING AND LEARNING

Dr Karen Ayres
Maths & Statistics Building, Room 205
E-mail: k.l.ayres@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 8023

SDTL Job Description (PDF download)

Deputy School Director of Teaching and Learning

Dr Andrew Charlton-Perez
Lyle Building, Room 305
E-mail: a.j.charlton-perez@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 6023

 

SCHOOL SENIOR TUTOR

Dr Calvin Smith
Maths & Statistics, Room 200
E-mail: calvin.smith@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 5013

SST Job description (PDF download)

Deputy School Senior Tutor

Dr Pat Parslow
Computer Science
E-mail: p.parslow@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 8613

SCHOOL DIRECTOR OF TECHNOLOGY ENHANCED LEARNING

Professor Richard Mitchell
Computer Science
E-mail: r.j.mitchell@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 6790

SCHOOL DIRECTOR OF POSTGRADUATE RESEARCH STUDIES

Professor Suzanne Gray
Meteorology Building, Room 1U09
E-mail: s.l.gray@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 6791

School Director of PG Research Studies Job description

SCHOOL DIRECTOR OF POSTGRADUATE AND PROFESSIONAL STUDIES

Dr Helen Dacre 
Meteorology Building, Room 2U12
E-mail: h.f.dacre@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 5569

School Director of Postgraduate and Professional Studies Job description (PDF download)

SCHOOL HEALTH AND SAFETY CO-ORDINATOR

Professor Geoff Wadge
Harry Pitt Building, Room 181
E-mail: sgswadge@reading.ac.uk

Phone: 0118 378 6412

School Health and Safety Co-ordinator Job description

EQUALITY AND DIVERSITY CHAMPIONS

Meteorology - Dr Joy Singarayer
Lyle Building, Room 507c 
E-mail: j.s.singarayer@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 6021

Mathematics and Statistics - Dr Calvin Smith
Maths Building, Room 200 
E-mail: calvin.smith@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 5013

Responsibilities of SMPCS Athena SWAN Champions

See also SMPCS Equality and Diversity pages

 

Departmental Positions

Department of Mathematics and Statistics

HEAD OF DEPARTMENT

Dr Stephen Langdon
Maths & Statistics, Room 209
E-mail: s.langdon@reading.ac.uk 
Phone: 0118 378 5021

Responsibilities of the Head of Department, Mathematics & Statistics

Department of Computer Science

HEAD OF DEPARTMENT

Dr Giuseppe Di Fatta
Computer Science
Email: g.difatta@reading.ac.uk
Telephone: 0118 378 8221

Department of Meteorology

HEAD OF DEPARTMENT
(Academic and Research Staff)

Professor Danny Feltham
Meteorology Building, Room 2L42
E-mail: D.L.Feltham@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 5094

HoD (AS) role description

HEAD OF DEPARTMENT
(External Affairs)

Professor Richard Allan
Meteorology Building, Room 2U15
E-mail: r.p.allan@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 5568

HoD (EA) role description

HEAD OF DEPARTMENT (Finance)

Professor Maarten Ambaum
Meteorology Building, Room 1L38 
E-mail: m.h.p.ambaum@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 6609

HoD (Finance) role description (PDF download)

PROGRAMME DIRECTORS

Programme Director, Meteorology Postgraduate

Dr Andrew Charlton-Perez
Lyle, Room 305
Email: Andrew Charlton-Perez
Tel: 0118 378 6023

Programme Director, Meteorology Undergraduate

Dr Pete Inness
Meteorology, Room 3L64
Email: Pete Inness
Tel: 0118 378 5583

Programme Director, Mathematics and Statistics Undergraduate 

Dr Peter Chamberlain
Mathematics and Statistics
Email: Peter Chamberlain
Tel: 0118 378 5005

Programme Director, Computer Science Undergraduate and Postgraduate 

Dr Hong Wei
Mathematics and Statistics
Email: Hong Wei
Tel: 0118 378 8608 

Statistical Service Centre

Director, Statistical Services Centre

James Gallagher 
Harry Pitt Building
E-mail: j.gallagher@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 6730

Support Staff Postions

School Management Office

(Meteorology Building, building 58 on map)

Executive Assistant to Head of School

Amy Rhodes

Meteorology Room 2L52
E-mail: a.v.rhodes@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 8968

HR Co-ordinator for SMPCS

Kendra Slater
Harry Pitt, Room 217
E-mail:
Phone: 0118 378 8697

Science Writer/Web Content Developer

Stephen Burt
Meteorology, Room 2L39
E-mail: s.d.burt@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 7987 

 

JJT Support Centre (SMPCS team)

(JJ Thomson Building, building 3 on map)

Undergraduate Office

Alex Owen (Senior Programme Administrator)
JJ Thomson Room 211
E-mail: a.y.owen@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 8021

Sophie King-Waring (Programme Administrator)
JJ Thomson Room 211   
E-mail: s.n.king-waring@reading.ac.uk 
Phone: 0118 378 7612 

Linda Watson (Student Support Coordinator)
JJ Thomson Room 211   
E-mail: Linda Watson
Phone: 0118 378 7488

Christine M. Macfarlane (Meteorology Postgraduate Administrator)
JJ Thomson Room 212
E-mail: Christine Macfarlane
Phone: 0118 378 8954

Liam Smalley (Programme Administrator)
JJ Thompson Room 212
Email: l.smalley@reading.ac.uk 
Phone: 0118 378 7585

Placement Officers

Lisa Cranfield
JJ Thomson Room 210
E-mail: l.j.cranfield@reading.ac.uk
Phone: 0118 378 8541

(Computer Science) Sandra Ilett
JJ Thomson Room 210
E-mail: Sandra Ilett
Phone: 0118 378 8605

 

 

Back to top